Titles of Noblesse (d'Hozier)

Your noble ancestor paid Blood Tax under the Old Regime ? Discover his military exploits.

  • Fonds d'Hozier

  • National Library


Nominative directory of the Nobles of sword dead on the battlefields of the monarchy

Under the Ancien Régime, the nobility represented the political elite of the country. If one is generally noble by birth, one can also become one by fulfilling the "tax of the blood", that is to say by serving the king militarily and possibly being hurt and killed. The service of arms is the first service due to the king by the nobility.


Very early, his boys are trained to become fighters who, at the raising of the ban and backbenchers, will have to provide the king with contigents of soldiers. While the absolute monarchy is set up, they will receive honors and decorations. But the families guard preciously the feats of arms and the memory of those who died in the field of honor, for their king and for France.


The monarchy disappeared in the torments of the Revolution, it is to Jean-Francois d'Hozier, last representative of the genealogical family of the king, that families turn to compile his feats of arms. This scholar will use the extraordinary archival holdings of his ancestors genealogists to write his book The Tax of Blood, which today allows to preserve the memory of these valiant soldier of the nobility.

Sources

  • Fonds d'Hozier

  • National Library


Nominative directory of the Nobles of sword dead on the battlefields of the monarchy

Titres de Noblesse (d'Hozier)

Votre ancêtre noble s'est acquitté de l'Impôt du Sang sous l'Ancien Régime ? Découvrez ses faits d'armes.

  • Fonds d'Hozier

  • Bibliothèque nationale


Répertoire nominatif des nobles d'épée morts sur les champs de bataille de la monarchie

Sous l'Ancien Régime, la noblesse représente l'élite politique du pays. Si on est généralement noble par la naissance, on peut aussi le devenir en s'acquittant de l'"impôt du sang", c'est-à-dire en servant le roi militairement et étant éventuellement blessé et tué. Le service des armes est le premier service dû au roi par la noblesse.


Très tôt, ses garçons sont formés pour devenir des combattants qui, lors de la levée du ban et de l'arrière-ban, devront fournir au roi des contigents de soldats. Alors que la monarchie absolue se met en place, ils recevront honneurs et décorations. Mais les familles gardent précieusement les faits d'armes et le souvenir de ceux qui sont morts au champ d'honneur, pour leur roi et pour la France.


La monarchie disparue dans les affres de la Révolution, c'est vers Jean-François d'Hozier, dernier représentant de la famille des généalogistes du roi, que se tournent les familles pour compiler ses faits d'armes. Cet érudit va utiliser l'extraordinaire fonds d'archives de ses ancêtres généalogistes pour rédiger son livre L'Impôt du sang, qui permet aujourd'hui de conserver la mémoire de ces valeureux soldat de la noblesse.

Sources
  • Fonds d'Hozier
  • Bibliothèque nationale

Répertoire nominatif des nobles d'épée morts sur les champs de bataille de la monarchie

Indiquez votre adresse e-mail

Inscrivez-vous ou connectez-vous pour accéder à votre compte Filae

create