Ennobled persons (1270-1868)

Your ancestor was recognize for his achievements ? Discover the reasons for his ennoblement.

  • Dictionary of ennobles and lists of families having their names changed from the Registers of the Court of Auditors and the Court of Help; by François Godet de Soudé, master of the Court of Auditors


Nominative directory of 9000 people ennobled by the kings of France since the 13th century

The ennobling is a formal act of promotion of a person by the will of a sovereign, causing a change of social status by conferring on him the nobility.


The ennoblement by the kings of France is known since the thirteenth century, the first of ennoblement preserved being conferred by Philip III the Hardi in 1271 to his Paymaster Raoul and his barber Philippe Labrosse. With the first ennobles specified by a written act, the kings of France reserved the right to create the nobility and to erect fiefdoms in title.


From 1339, under Philip VI of Valois, the letters of ennoblement must be referred by the Chamber of Accounts, and later must be registered in Parliament and the Court of Helps


The last ennobles in France date from the reign of Napoleon III. Within the French nobility, one can distinguish in France families ennobled by letter, by office and function. Certain offices conferred the personal nobility on their holder, without being hereditary.

Sources

  • Dictionary of ennobles and lists of families having their names changed from the Registers of the Court of Auditors and the Court of Help; by François Godet de Soudé, master of the Court of Auditors


Nominative directory of 9000 people ennobled by the kings of France since the 13th century

Personnes anoblies (1270-1868)

Votre ancêtre a reçu des lettres de noblesse ? Découvrez les raisons de son anoblissement.

  • Dictionnaire des anoblis et listes des familles ayant fait modifier leur nom, issues des Registres de la Cour des Comptes et de la Cour des Aides; par François Godet de Soudé, maître à la Cour des Comptes


Répertoire nominatif des 9000 personnes anoblies par le rois de France depuis le XIIIe siècle

L’anoblissement est un acte formel de promotion d'une personne par la volonté d'un souverain, provoquant un changement d'état social en lui conférant la noblesse.


L'anoblissement par les rois de France est connu depuis le XIIIe siècle, les premières d'anoblissement conservées étant conférées par Philippe III le Hardi en 1271 à son argentier Raoul et à son barbier Philippe Labrosse. Avec les premiers anoblissements spécifiés par un acte écrit, les rois de France se sont réservé le droit de créer la noblesse et d'ériger des fiefs en titre.


A partir de 1339, sous Philippe VI de Valois, les lettres d'anoblissement doivent être visées par la Chambre des comptes, et plus tard doivent être enregistrées au Parlement et à la Cour des aides.


Les derniers anoblissements en France datent du règne de Napoléon III. À l'intérieur de la noblesse française, on peut distinguer en France les familles anoblies par lettre, par charge et par fonction. Certaines charges conféraient la noblesse personnelle à leur titulaire, sans être héréditaire.

Sources
  • Dictionnaire des anoblis et listes des familles ayant fait modifier leur nom, issues des Registres de la Cour des Comptes et de la Cour des Aides; par François Godet de Soudé, maître à la Cour des Comptes

Répertoire nominatif des 9000 personnes anoblies par le rois de France depuis le XIIIe siècle

Indiquez votre adresse e-mail

Inscrivez-vous ou connectez-vous pour accéder à votre compte Filae

create