Legion of Honor (1802-1814)

Find out if one of your ancestors was one of the first recipient of the Legion of Honor.

  • General status of the members of the Legion of Honor


Nominative General status digitized of the members of the Legion of Honor, from the origin to the Empire (1802-1814)

The Order of the Legion of Honor was created on May 19, 1802 by Napoleon Bonaparte to reward the distinguished merits of the Nation. With the disappearance of the Order of St. Louis in 1792, soldiers and civilians, for the sake of equality, no longer saw their services recognized by the national community. Considering that one "" governs the peoples with rattles "", Bonaparte decided to recreate a national order valuing the citizens and to reconstitute an "aristocracy of merit".


Originally, there were 4 classes: Legionnaire, Officer, Commander and Grand Officer. An elusive annual pension was linked to promotion in order. Its amount was important since a legionaire received 250 gold francs, an officer 1000 gold francs, a commander 2000 gold francs and a grand officer 5000 gold francs


The first recipients were military. But civilians were also promoted.


Following the fires of the Commune, the files of the recipients under the Empire have disappeared. Fortunately, a general register had been drawn up. Without him, the memory of the first officers of the Legion of Honor would have disappeared.

Sources

  • General status of the members of the Legion of Honor


Nominative General status digitized of the members of the Legion of Honor, from the origin to the Empire (1802-1814)

Légion d'Honneur (1802-1814)

Découvrez si l'un de vos ancêtres fut parmi les premiers récipiendaires de la Légion d'Honneur.

  • Etat général des membres de la Légion d'Honneur


Etat général nominatif numérisé des membres de la Légion d'Honneur, de l'origine à l'Empire (1802-1814)

L’ordre de la Légion d’honneur est créée le 19 mai 1802 par Napoléon Bonaparte afin de récompenser les mérites éminents rendus à la Nation. Avec la disparition de l'Ordre de Saint-Louis en 1792, les soldats et les civils, dans un souci d'égalité, ne voyaient plus leurs services reconnus par la communauté nationale. Considérant que l'on ""gouverne les peuples avec des hochets"", Bonaparte décida de recréer un ordre national valorisant les citoyens et, partant, de reconstituer une ""aristocratie du mérite"".


A l'origine, il existait 4 classes : légionnaire, officier, commandant et grand officier. Une pension annuelle, insaisissable, était liée à la promotion dans l'ordre. Son montant était important puisqu'un légionaire recevait 250 francs or, un officier 1000 francs or, un commandant 2000 francs or et un grand officier 5000 francs or.


Les premiers récipiendaires furent des militaires. Mais des civils furent aussi promus.


A la suite des incendies de la Commune, les dossiers des récipiendaires sous l'Empire ont disparu. Heureusement, un Etat général avait été dressé. Sans lui, la mémoire des premiers officiers de la Légion d'Honneur aurait disparu.

Sources
  • Etat général des membres de la Légion d'Honneur

Etat général nominatif numérisé des membres de la Légion d'Honneur, de l'origine à l'Empire (1802-1814)

Indiquez votre adresse e-mail

Inscrivez-vous ou connectez-vous pour accéder à votre compte Filae

create