Legion of Honor (1929-1968)

Find out if one of your ancestors was a recipient of the Legion of Honor.

  • Bulletin of Laws and Official Journal


Digitized registered directory; of the 252 000 people promoted in the Order of the Legion of Honor between 1929 and 1968

Established by Napoleon in 1802 and first awarded on 14 July 1804, the Légion of Honor is the highest honorary decoration in France. Throughout the nineteenth century, military and civilians were rewarded for exceptional warfare or irreproachable and deserving civilian conduct.


The promotion of Knight, Officer, Commander or even Grand'Croix of the Legion of Honor being a civil honor to which was attached an annual pension, the nomination benefited from a decree of the Head of State (King, Emperor or President) . These decrees of appointment, like all the official acts, were published in the Bulletin of the Laws and the Official Journal of the years 1852, 1929, 1931, 1953, 1957, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1964 and 1968.


It includes all the recipients, whether they were rewarded for bravery during the many wars of the nineteenth century, for outstanding service to the power in place, whatever the regime, following a long career, for an invention or a meritorious civil action.

Sources

  • Bulletin of Laws and Official Journal


Digitized registered directory; of the 252 000 people promoted in the Order of the Legion of Honor between 1929 and 1968

Légion d'Honneur (1929-1968)

Découvrez si l'un de vos ancêtres fut récipiendaires de la Légion d'Honneur.

  • Bulletin des Lois et Journal Officiel


Répertoire nominatif numérisé des 252 000 personnes promues dans l'Ordre de la Légion d'Honneur entre 1929 et 1968

Instaurée par Napoléon en 1802 et décernée la première fois le 14 juillet 1804, la Légion d'Honneur est la plus haute décoration honorifique en France. Tout au long du XIXe siècle, militaires et civils furent récompensés pour faits de guerre exceptionnels ou conduite civile irréprochable et méritante.


La promotion de Chevalier, Officier, Commandeur ou même Grand'Croix de la Légion d'Honneur étant un honneur civil auquel était attachée une pension annuelle, la nomination bénéficiait d'un décret du chef de l'Etat (roi, empereur ou président). Ces décrets de nomination, comme tous les actes officiels, étaient publiés dans le dans le Bulletin des Lois et le Journal Officiel des années 1852, 1929, 1931, 1953, 1957, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1964 et 1968.


Y figurent tous les récipiendaires, qu'ils aient été récompensés pour faits de bravoure pendant les nombreuses guerres du XIXe siècle, pour services éminents au pouvoir en place, quelque soit le régime, à la suite d'une longue carrière, pour une invention ou une action civile méritoire.

Sources
  • Bulletin des Lois et Journal Officiel

Répertoire nominatif numérisé des 252 000 personnes promues dans l'Ordre de la Légion d'Honneur entre 1929 et 1968

Indiquez votre adresse e-mail

Inscrivez-vous ou connectez-vous pour accéder à votre compte Filae

create