Northern censuses

Your ancestor is from the North ? Find it in departmental censuses.
Individual and household counting of the nominative list of the 1906 census of Cotes du Nord

The department of the North is at the beginning of the twentieth century - industrial revolution obliges - a particularly populated department. To the natives who are active in its mines or its factories are added the "emigrants of the interior", native French of the neighboring or sometimes distant departments (like the annexed departments of Alsace-Moselle) finding in the North a job and a residence. And foreign immigration (Belgians, Italians, Poles ...) comes to overcome the lack of low-cost native labor.


To count the population, France counts its inhabitants every five years, the years ending in 1 and in 6. All the people living in a city are enumerated, individually and by household. Including foreigners or French born in another department. They make it possible to establish a "photograph" of the home - and not only of the nuclear family - at the exact moment.


They help to discover, for example, all siblings or cousins, grandmothers living at the home of their children or grandchildren. For the North, the 1906 census counts 433,000 households and more than 1,642,000 people.

Sources
Individual and household counting of the nominative list of the 1906 census of Cotes du Nord

Recensements du Nord

Votre ancêtre est originaire du Nord ? Retrouvez-le dans les recensements départementaux.
Dépouillement individuel et par foyer des listes nominatives du recensement national de 1906 pour le département du Nord

Le département du Nord est au début du XXe siècle - révolution industrielle oblige - un département particulièrement peuplé. Aux natifs qui s'activent dans ses mines ou ses manufactures viennent s'ajouter les "émigrés de l'intérieur", Français natifs des départements limitrophes ou parfois lointains (comme les départements annexés d'Alsace-Moselle) trouvant dans le Nord un emploi et une résidence. Et l'immigration étrangère (Belges, Italiens, Polonais...) vient palier le manque de main d'oeuvre autochtone à bas coût.


Pour dénombrer la population, la France recense ses habitants tous les cinq ans, les années se terminant en 1 et en 6. Toutes les personnes habitant une commune sont recensées, individuellement et par foyer. Y compris les étrangers ou les Français nés dans un autre département. Ils permettent d'établir une "photographie" du foyer - et pas seulement de la famille nucléaire - à l'instant T.


Ils aident ainsi à découvrir, par exemple, toute une fratrie ou des cousins, des grands-mères vivant au foyer de leurs enfants ou petits-enfants. Pour le Nord, le recensement de 1906 dénombre 433 000 foyers et plus de 1 642 000 individus.

Sources
Dépouillement individuel et par foyer des listes nominatives du recensement national de 1906 pour le département du Nord
Indiquez votre adresse e-mail

Inscrivez-vous ou connectez-vous pour accéder à votre compte Filae

create