Distinguished soldiers

Your Poilu ancestor stand out in combat ? Discover his military exploits.

  • Army Bulletins


List of soldiers and officers named to the order of the army or decorated (Legion of Honor and military medal) during the First World War

The Great War developed among fighters - the majority conscripts and therefore non-military careers and from all sections of the French population - resources of courage and heroism unsuspected even of the latter. Faced with machine gun, alone or in a pack, many of our ancestors made exemplary feats of arms.


The French Army considered it worthy to honor and preserve not only the memory of these heroic deeds, but also the names of those who accomplished them. If the Legion of Honor is the Queen of Decorations, the Military Medal was awarded to more than one million four hundred thousand soldiers and sailors, officers or soldiers, mostly posthumously.


The Military Medal, also known as the "Brave Medal", honored exceptional military services : a quote to the order of the army, a war wound, an act of courage in battle worthy of reward or seniority after a certain number of years on duty.

Sources

  • Army Bulletins


List of soldiers and officers named to the order of the army or decorated (Legion of Honor and military medal) during the First World War

Soldats distingués

Votre ancêtre poilu s'est illustré au combat ? Découvrez ses faits d'armes.

  • Bulletins des Armées


Liste des soldats et officiers cités à l'ordre de l'armée ou décorés (Légion d'Honneur et médaille militaire) au cours du premier conflit mondial

La Grande Guerre développa chez les combattants - la plupart conscrits et donc non militaires de carrières et issus de toutes les tranches de la population française - des ressources de courage et d'héroïsme insoupçonnées même de ces derniers. Face à la mitraille, seuls ou en peloton, nombre de nos ancêtres accomplirent des faits d'armes exemplaires.


L'Armée française jugea digne d'honorer et de conserver à la fois la mémoire de ces actions héroïques, mais aussi les noms de ceux qui les accomplirent. Si la Légion d'Honneur est la reine des décorations, la Médaille militaire fut décernée à plus d'un million quatre cent mille militaires et marins, officiers ou soldats, la plupart du temps à titre posthume.


La Médaille militaire, dite aussi ""médaille des Braves"", honorait des services militaires exceptionnels : citation à l'ordre de l'armée, blessure de guerre, acte de courage au combat méritant récompense ou ancienneté après un certain nombre d'années de service.

Sources
  • Bulletins des Armées

Liste des soldats et officiers cités à l'ordre de l'armée ou décorés (Légion d'Honneur et médaille militaire) au cours du premier conflit mondial

Indiquez votre adresse e-mail

Inscrivez-vous ou connectez-vous pour accéder à votre compte Filae

create