Officers of Ships

Your ancestor had the sea legs ? Find out if he belonged to the Royal Navy.

  • Records of the Navy personnel of the Ancien Régime kept in the National Archives


Directory of more than 12 350 naval officers having served on the ships of the last kings of France, from Louis XIV to Louis XVI

In 1661, when the young king Louis XIV took over the destiny of his kingdom, Spain and England reign over the seas. Their colonial empires allow them to enrich themselves considerably and their navies are the policeman of the seas.


Colbert in turn builds a French navy worthy of France. It accompanies the economic, strategic and cultural development of France, in Europe and beyond the seas, allowing the foundation of the first French colonial empire, extending from New France to West Africa and up to 'to the Indian Ocean.


More than 12,000 officerswill sail the seas, counters of India to the West Indies so rich that they constitute the safe of the French monarchy, under Louis XIV, Louis XV and Louis XVI, both during the disastrous Seven Years' War (which sees the near disappearance of the Empire) as the glorious American War of Independence (which consecrated the supremacy of the French Navy in the 1780s).

Sources

  • Records of the Navy personnel of the Ancien Régime kept in the National Archives


Directory of more than 12 350 naval officers having served on the ships of the last kings of France, from Louis XIV to Louis XVI

Officiers de Vaisseaux

Votre ancêtre avait le pied marin ? Découvrez s'il a appartenu à la Marine Royale.

  • Dossiers du personnel de la Marine d'Ancien Régime conservés aux Archives Nationales


Répertoire de plus de 12 350 officiers de Marine ayant servi sur les vaisseaux des derniers rois de France, de Louis XIV à Louis XVI

En 1661, alors que le jeune roi Louis XIV prend en main les destinées de son royaume, l'Espagne et l'Angleterre règnent sur les mers. Leurs empires coloniaux leur permettent de s'enrichir considérablement et leurs marines sont les gendarmes des mers.


Colbert construit à son tour une marine française digne de ce nom. Elle accompagne l'essor économique, stratégique et culturel de la France, en Europe et au-delà des mers, permettant la fondation du premier Empire colonial français, s'étendant de la Nouvelle-France à l'Afrique de l'Ouest et jusqu'à l'océan indien.


Plus de 12 000 officiers vont sillonner les mers, des comptoirs des Indes aux Antilles si riches qu'elles constituent le coffre-fort de la monarchie française, sous Louis XIV, Louis XV et Louis XVI, aussi bien pendant la désastreuse guerre de Sept ans (qui voit la quasi disparition de l'Empire) que la glorieuse guerre d'Indépendance américaine (qui consacre la suprématie de la Marine française dans les années 1780).

Sources
  • Dossiers du personnel de la Marine d'Ancien Régime conservés aux Archives Nationales

Répertoire de plus de 12 350 officiers de Marine ayant servi sur les vaisseaux des derniers rois de France, de Louis XIV à Louis XVI

Indiquez votre adresse e-mail

Inscrivez-vous ou connectez-vous pour accéder à votre compte Filae

create